Talk:Five-Ten

From Wiki.openrbl.org

Jump to: navigation, search

FiveTen is insanely aggressive. So aggressive, in fact, that it is useless for most email users. Its maintainer, Carl Byington, is both hostile and careless, adding huge chunks of address space (including entire /8 networks) at a time to the list. Attempts to request removals are met with more hostility, even if the netblock owners have removed the alleged spammers.

OpenRBL's inclusion of FiveTen makes OpenRBL itself far less useful, because most addresses checked will show up on OpenRBL because they are on FiveTen.

Observe further discussion: http://www.vamsoft.com/orf/statdetails.asp?cID=9

[edit] (moved from Openrbl_Wiki:Help)

Good afternoon:

my name is Juan Benz Network Manager from Holos TQC - Lima Peru; please can you tell me what happend with my ip address "201.230.65.251" because i can't send email's from my email server (echange 2003) only i can receive.

when i check in the test from http://www.five-ten-sg.com/blackhole.php and ; it tell me :

IP address 201.230.65.251 is listed here as 201.230.100.86.speedy.net.pe misc.spam.

In the http://www.dnsstuff.com/  ; it tell me:

FIVETENSRC [should not be used] LISTED (127.0.0.2) Reports CNAME of 201.230.100.86.speedy.net.pe.misc.spam.blackholes.five-ten-sg.com. TXT= "miscellaneous address blocks that have sent spam here" 85191 seconds 0 ms

in the http://openrbl.org/ ; it tell me:

FIVETEN - Local Blackholes at Five-Ten private blocklist _ homepage http://www.five-ten-sg.com/blackhole.php type LHS Blocklist notxt zone blackholes.five-ten-sg.com [Wiki] status Blocklisted at blackholes.five-ten-sg.com


lookup http://www.five-ten-sg.com/blackhole.php?201.230.65.251 response inet 127.0.0.2

can't send emails is a consequence about it?

I had problems with my email server and my spam filter but i resolved this problem and protected it with panda Admin Secure with True Prevent and Panda exchange Secure protect.

PD:Please tell me how leave my ip address 201.230.65.251 from this list "FIVETENSRC"

Sincerelly, Juan Enrique Benz Network Manager Holos TQC Lima - Peru

RE:

Dont worry, Five-Ten is not used that widely for rejecting mail. Check the logs of your mailserver and read the bonces.

IF you read the first error in your actually linked error message you would see you are listed for 201.230.65.251 having no reverse dns thus fiveten is unlikely the souce of others rejecting your e-mail, AS NO ONE SANE uses fiveten, but equally NO ONE SANE accepts email from servers lacking reverse dns and this is why no one accepts e-mail from you feel free to contact me if this is unclear http://alan.gothic.ie/contact/

[edit] (moved from anonymous user 71.35.102.188 on Five-Ten


"too aggressive" is putting it mildly. If even one server sends out spam they blacklist all servers at the ISP. In my case the ISP which hosts my server also hosts about 100000 other servers. My server is not even on the same network block as the one that they are blacklisting, but because I am at the same company, that is enough for them to list my server. I have contacted Five-Ten multiple times on this issue and they come across with a very arrogant attitude and are completely unwilling to reconsider their ridicules stance. even when I showed them that on the list they gave me of spammers at my ISP, I showed them that most of those "spammers" had already been shutdown by the ISP, which does have an anti-spam policy. But that was not good enough for them. As long as there is one person in this world who has sent spam, they feel they have the right to block the entire world. It's a joke. avoid them, they are not a legitimate source of information.


Personal tools